Springdoor

Create your day

Sukiyaki

The greatest thing about being over the first trimester (well almost, but we won’t count days), is I finally have my appetite back. So I decided to make something delicious and nutritious.

Sukiyaki is what one would call a one-pot dish. The only time consuming part is chopping all the vegetables, but the actual cooking time is quite quick.

Here is a list of what went into my sukiyaki: beef (sliced very thinly), onion, carrot, celery, shiitake mushrooms, napa cabbage, spinach, and tofu.

This is the recipe I used:

Heat the skillet and grease (I use sesame oil, but suet will work too). Add the sliced beef and fry. Add onion, carrot and celery; cook over medium-low heat. Add ½ c. soup stock (I made fresh for this, but you could also use an instant soup stock), ½ c. mirin, ½. Soy sauce and 3 tsp sugar (I only use about half because the mirin is already sweet). Add the mushrooms and cook until softened. Add cabbage and spinach and cook until wilted. Add tofu and heat through.

Traditionally you serve with raw eggs and each bite is to be dipped in the egg before eating. I don’t do this and you don’t have to either.

Photobucket

Itadakimasu!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

