Springdoor

Create your day

Crazy about Kale

Recently it seems that everyone’s talking about Kale and all its health benefits.  I’ve never been a fad follower, but when it comes to leafy greens, I’m willing to go along.  My mom gave me a recipe for kale salad that she picked up at New Season’s Market.  I love this grocery store! It’s all about fresh and local food.  they deal directly with the grower or farmer so they know the inputs thus insuring high quality output.  As someone who used to be very involved with the pear and cherry industry, I really appreciate this concept.  But I digress.

Back to kale.  It’s much hardier than cabbage, although they are in the same family.  Up to this point I’ve only ever sautéed it, so I decided to give the recipe a try.  Simply put, this salad will knock your socks off.  It’s very simple and a tad spicy, both qualities that I love.  It’s crunchy and creamy all in one perfect bite.  And believe it or not, it tastes just as good, if not better, the second day.  Unlike most salads, this one doesn’t get soggy overnight.  We paired it with a perfectly cooked (thanks to my husband) Coho salmon and brown rice.

Beautiful piece of fish

So, make a big bowl of this salad and enjoy!

Ingredients

Curly Kale

3/4 cup grated carrot

1/3 cup roasted, salted sunflower seeds

Dressing

1/4 cup Lite Mayo

1 TBS soy sauce

1/2 TBS rice wine vinegar

1 TBS sesame oil (I substituted olive oil because my mom thought that the sesame oil overpowered the rest of the flavors)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 TBS fresh ginger

1/4 tsp cayenne

1/4 tsp cumin

salt to taste

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

